In Which I Pass the Writing Off to a Professional

Everyone, please welcome the incomparable Alex, writing about our new thing of the day for Thursday!  He kindly agreed to guest blog his kitchen experiments as he tries to eat lower on the food chain.  Spoiler alert: This pizza was amazing!

Red meat and I have broken up.  Every now and then we’ll get together and do stuff (like the Bacon and Onion pizza I just ate from the pizzeria across the parking lot from our apartment – which is a healthy eating killer, by the way, glad I had forgotten how good it was until a week before we leave), but most of my cooking experiments lately have been centered around me attempting to get not only the red meat out of my life, but also the meat.

Most of the time, I find myself eating unhealthy solely because it seems easier than going through the work of trying to make something healthy, discovering I don’t really like the new flavors, and then having to go find something else to eat anyway.  Usually, I’ll just go find the something else to eat to begin with.

Yesterday though, I had told Patti that I was going to make dinner, and she had already offered to let me guest post about my kitchen experiments on her blog, so it seemed like the perfect time to experiment in a potential replacement recipe for one of my favorite “junk” foods: pizza.  (I know, I know, we ate pizza two nights in a row so it may not have been a perfect replacement recipe, but seriously, the pizzeria is absolutely delicious.  Especially when you pile bacon on their pizza.)

But here is the recipe for the vegetarian BBQ pizza I made last night:

Originally, I had intended to just buy a pizza kit at the store for my dough, but when I remembered how much I hate finding things at Shop-Rite, I just looked up a quick and easy pizza dough recipe.  Use whatever dough recipe you like, if you have questions about the specific recipe that I used, feel free to ask in the comments or ask me on twitter (@asfreeman).  The dough, I don’t think, really played into the final taste of the pizza, it just served primarily as a vessel.

Once you have your dough ready to go, it’s time to prep the toppings.  This recipe made a medium cookie sheet sized pizza – do with that information what you will.

Vegetarian BBQ Pizza

1 pound vegetarian ground beef substitute (I used Go Lean, use your favorite brand)

½ bottle Jack Daniel’s Smokehouse Honey BBQ sauce

Diced Bell Peppers (I used two)

Diced Onions (Not actually in the pizza I made, but I wanted it to be)  This would be because his incredibly attractive girlfriend used it in her lunch – sorry Alex! 

2 Bags of Shredded Cheese

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

Brown the ground beef substitute in a pan.  Once browned, mix with the peppers, onions and BBQ sauce in a large mixing bowl.  Ensure that the substitute is completely coated.

Spread the substitute mixture on your dough (spread evenly covering the pan).  Cover the mixture with as much cheese as your heart desires (I used slightly more than 1 bag of cheese).

Bake for 15 minutes, or until cheese and crust are a nice golden brown.  Let cool and enjoy!

Pretty simple recipe, but it tasted great.  Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

